Homepage   Free Newsletter    Business Events    Humour   Clubs    Travel   Readings    Golf    Lifestyle Main Page   Soccer Main Page


Soccer (Football)


Soccer Main Page ...... Click Here
FIFA World Cup 2010 ...... Click Here


FIFA World Cup is the most important competition in international football, and the world’s most representative team-spot. Organised by the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), football’s sports governing body, the cup is contested by the national football teams of FIFA member nations. The championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930 (expect in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II). However, it is more of an ongoing event, as the qualifying rounds of the competition take place over the three years preceding the final round.

The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be held in South Africa.

The FIFA World Cup is the coming together of the 32 national teams that qualify, to compete over a month in the host nation. There are two stages: a group and a knockout stage.

In the group stage, teams are drawn are drawn into eight groups of four: Eight teams are seeded at the draw, and assigned a group. The other teams are drawn at random. Each group plays a round-robin tournament, guaranteeing that every qualifying nation will play at least three matches. The last round of matches, of each group, is held simultaneously to prevent collusion between nations. The top-two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage.

The knockout stage is a single elimination round in which teams on one-off matches, with extra time and penalty shootouts used to decide the winner, if necessary. In the Round of 16, the winner of each group plays against the runner-up from another group. This is followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and final. The losing semi-finalists contest a third place match.


At the end of each World Cup final tournament, six awards are presented to the players and teams for accomplished other than winning the tournament outright. These are:

The Adidas Golden Shoe for Top Goal Scorer.

The Yashin Award for Best Goalkeeper.

The FIFA Fair Play Award for the team with the best record of fair play.

The Most Entertaining Team Award for the team that has entertained the public the most during the World Cup final tournament.

The Gillette Best Young Player Award for best player under 21 years of age at the start of the calendar year, which will be awarded for the first time in 2006.

About us | Contact us | Banking | Terms of use | Disclaimer
© Banknet India | All rights reserved worldwide.
Best viewed with IE 4.00 & above at a screen resolution of 800 x 600 or higher