Indian General Elections 2009-Special Section

General Elections Schedule

Five Phase election will start on 16th April, 2009 (Thursday) Counting will take place on the 16th of May, 2009 and is expected to be completed on the same day.

States of Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim will also hold elections for new Legislative Assemblies, simultaneously with the General Elections to the 15th Lok Sabha.

  • Phase 1

    April 16 - Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Andaman and Nicobar Island, Lakshadweep.

  • Phase 2

    April 23 - Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand.

  • Phase 3

    April 30 - Bihar, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Dadar and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

  • Phase 4

    May 7 - Bihar, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Delhi.

  • Phase 5

    May 13 - Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Chandigargh and Puducherry.

    INTRODUCTION... Click here
    MODEL CODE OF CONDUCT... Click here
    POLITICAL PARTIES... Click here
    ELECTION FAQs... Click here
    ELECTION NEWS ... Click here