Bank Holidays 2016:

Complete List Of Bank Holidays In India For All States & UTs


Bank holidays are generally public holidays. These are the days when Banks & other Financial Institutions don't operate. In India bank holidays are declared under the Negotiable Instruments Act. These are also called 'Gazetted Holidays under NI Act'

India is a multicultural and multireligious society and celebrates holidays and festivals of various religions. There are three national holidays in India: Independence Day, Republic Day and Gandhi Jayanti. In addition, many states and regions have local festivals depending on religious and linguistic demographics.

This is the most comprehensive listing of bank holidays. India is a federal union of states. This exclusive section provides bank holidays for all the twenty-eight states and seven union territories. Please note that in addition to Sunday, Indian Banks & FIs are not operational on the second and fourth Saturdays.

Bank Holidays In India For The Month Of May 2016

No. Holiday Date/Month Day States/UT
31 Basava Jayanthi 09/05/2016 Monday Karnataka.
32 State Day 16/05/2016 Monday Sikkim.
33 Buddha Pournima/Saga Dawa 21/05/2016 Saturday Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh.

* May change due to sighting of moon.

Year 2016: Month Wise Bank Holidays In India For All States & UTs